OrbitalMartian

Watch Out Fedi - Masto Here To Get You


Numerous humongous Mastodon instances have been the sources of yet another spam bot wave.

,


Watch Out Fedi - Masto Here To Get You #

Over the last few days, there has been an influx (again) of spamming bots coming from mastodon.social, mastodon.online and mastodon.world. Mostly consisting of inappropriate content links claiming to be for OnlyFans, they ping a large number of users and leaving it at that. I've had a total of 3-4 on my main account (alpha.polymaths.social), as well as ~2 on my Akkomma alt account and a few on my Vivaldi Social account.

This isn't the first time that it's happened, but it's the first wave that I have actually been affected by. It is becoming annoying at this point, yet still funny to see that this is happening with no action from the admins over at Mastodon social/online/world. I have seen numerous posts from the maintainer of Mastodon and admin of these instances, doing other things such as welcoming Threads to "Mastodon" (wrong in it's own right, it's the Fediverse), and talking about the rate of these instances users following each other.

I have made a few toots about the issue:

Anyway, I have had enough of moaning about this now, so I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and a happy New Year!


Email Me Your Thoughts!

OR

Comments

Comment via Fediverse

To comment on this post, leave a reply to this thread from your Fediverse (Mastodon, Pixelfed, Pleroma, GoToSocial etc.) account.